St. Justin School Information
Monsignor Ronald Mentasti founded St. Justin Parish in 1951 with a full parish campus in mind. The first church was actually a stable on the corner of Scott Boulevard and Homestead Road where masses were held every Sunday. The first church building on the present site was erected in 1955, and the remaining parish buildings were completed in 1956. At that time, Archbishop Mitty granted permission for the building of a school, and Monsignor Mentasti began classes in September 1958, under the direction of the Dominican Missionary Sisters from Natal, South Africa. The school was formally dedicated on October 17, 1959, in a ceremony officiated by his Excellency, the Most Revered Merlin Gulfoyle. St. Justin School operated with eight full grades for the first time in 1965 and held its first graduation in June 1966. Classes at this time held a minimum of 50 students with applications continuing to be submitted.
Nearly sixty years later, the school instructs over 300 students in Pre-K through eighth grade. The safe and secure campus is located in the heart of Santa Clara adjacent to Central Park and the main library. Each school day begins in assembly with student-led prayer, the Pledge of Allegiance, and a patriotic song. Students attend Mass with the parish community on a weekly basis as well as on holy days of obligation.
One of the strengths of St. Justin School is the quality of its teachers. All homeroom teachers hold a California Clear Teaching Credential, and most have completed their basic catechist certification. Many have earned a master’s degree while others are currently working towards an advanced degree. The average experience per teacher is sixteen years with several veteran members tallying over twenty-five years of classroom experience. The talented and caring teachers at St. Justin School are proud to carry on the tradition of quality education that began nearly sixty years ago.